RESTAURANT – BAR – TERRACE
BAR – TERRACE
A new Parisian address on the border of the 8th and 17th arrondissements, LE CAMONDO has opened its doors within the eponymous museum, just next to Parc Monceau.
Upon entering, a large bar acts as the central element of the space, like a huge dining table inviting guests to share some time together. As if it were suspended in time, this former parking garage of the hôtel particulier has retained its coffered ceiling and metallic columns that make up the structure of the space. It also opens onto a paved courtyard that’s protected from external noise, just like a secret garden. Perfect for lunches and dinners on beautiful sunny days. This warm and inviting space boasts a cosy atmosphere featuring an interior design that mixes styles and materials with the spirit of an elegant conservatory, echoing the feeling of a private club.
61 bis, Rue de Monceau,
Tel : 01 45 63 40 40
Open all day from Monday to Saturday and Sunday lunchtime (Special menu)
ALEXIS LE TADIC
At the helm of the kitchen, this young chef has created a lively and spontaneous menu, offering updated classic dishes as well as some Italian and exotic detours. Alexis Le Tadic has spent time in some of the most prestigious kitchens including Alain Ducasse’s Louis XV in Monaco, Yves Camdeborde’s Comptoir, and most recently, Jouvence, Bib Gourmand Michelin 2017.
BY CHRISTOPHE MICHALAK
For LE CAMONDO, world pastry champion Christophe Michalak has created a selection of his best creations and delicious treats to indulge in or share with friends: Klassik Pavlova, Millefeuille, yuzu tart, citrus ice cream… Treat yourself at the end of a meal or during a sweet break throughout the day…
DISCOVER THE CAMONDO
THE FAMILY – THE MUSEUM
At the beginning of the 19th century, the Camondo family founded a bank that became one of the most important banks of the Ottoman Empire. Arriving in Paris at the end of the Second Empire, brothers Abraham-Behor and Nissim settled on the rue de Monceau.
A generation later, two cousins Isaac and Moïse became art collectors and known figures in the art world.
Moïse had a singular passion for 18th century France. To present his exceptional collections (furniture, artworks, rugs, tapestries, porcelain, jewellery), he had a residence constructed in 1911 by René Sergent that was inspired by the Petit Trianon at Versailles.
Designed to accommodate his collections, the hôtel was also home to his two children Nissim and Béatrice, both of whom lived with Moïse after the departure of his wife Irène and their divorce in 1902.
The First World War broke out. Nissim became a pilot and died for France during an air battle in 1917. This loss gave Moïse a determination to bequeath this unique collection to the French State in memory of Nissim. Until his death in 1935, the collector’s mission was to complete his life’s work of the “reconstruction of an 18th century artistic residence”.
BOOKING AND CONTACT
LE CAMONDO is situated at
61 bis, rue de Monceau, Paris 8th arrondissement
Open from midday to midnight
from Monday to Sunday
01 45 63 40 40
Privatisation and events on demand